Dr. Judy Jeevarajan

Dr. Judy Jeevarajan is a Research Director at Underwriters Laboratories Inc. She has worked in the area of batteries for more than 21 years with a primary focus on the lithium-ion chemistry and battery safety. Before joining UL, she worked at NASA-Johnson Space Center in Houston for 12 years. At NASA, she was the Group Lead for Battery Safety and Advanced Technology at NASA-JSC and was responsible for approving all batteries for crewed space flight. Before becoming a civil servant at NASA in 2003, she worked on-site at NASA-JSC for Lockheed Martin Space Operations for five and a half years and held positions of Senior Scientist and Lead for the Battery Group. 

Dr. Jeevarajan has an MS in Chemistry from the University of Notre Dame (’91) and she graduated with a Ph.D. in Chemistry (Electrochemistry) from the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa in 1995. Dr. Jeevarajan worked for a small business company in College Station, TX for a year immediately after completion of graduate work. Following this, she worked for a year as a postdoctoral fellow at Texas A&M University on NASA lithium-ion battery projects. 

Dr. Jeevarajan has written three book chapters, one on battery safety that was published in 2009 and a second one on commercial Li-ion cell safety, published in January 2014 and a third one on safety of lithium-ion batteries in commercial equipment, published in October 2018. Dr. Jeevarajan supported the Boeing 787 Battery Failure Investigation as a member of a Non-Advocate Review panel as well as an advisory member to the FAA and also supported an NTSB informational forum on Li-ion batteries. She has been the lead author for battery safety requirements at NASA (JSC 20793 Baseline, Rev A, Rev B and Rev C) and is a member of various standards panels such as the IEC (Technical advisor for the US delegation to SC21A TC21), RTCA battery standards, ICAO/SAE aviation lithium battery transportation standard, the UN Informal working group for the recategorization of lithium batteries for transportation, the Chair of the AIAA S-136 CoS and SAE Automotive battery standards. Dr. Jeevarajan has made more than 125 presentations at conferences and has won numerous NASA awards the most note-worthy of them being the NASA Exceptional Service Medal and the NASA-NESC Engineering Excellence Award.  At UL, she was inducted into the Henry Merrill Society as a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff in 2016.