Assistant professor of civil engineering, YeongAe Heo was selected as a 2018 American Society of Civil Engineers ExCEEd Fellow. Dr. Heo is also a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine Gulf Research Program Early-Career Research Fellow.

The Great Lakes Energy Institute is proud to announce that Boundary Laboratories, a new startup company at Case Western Reserve University took third place and won $5,000 at the Allegheny Region Cleantech University Prize (CUP) Collegiate Competition that was held April 6th at the Carnegie Mellon University as part of CMU Energy Week.  The team also won an additional $2,500 for building the best prototype.  Boundary Labs was formed through the

A team of researchers at Case Western Reserve University's Solar Durability and Lifetime Extension (SDLE) Research Center has recently developed a new method towards increasing the lifetime of photovoltaic solar panels. Through the use of machine learning, the team was able to develop an algorithm that quickly processes thousands of images of solar panels that detail their wear over time and identify the issues that lead to failure.

Mario Garcia-Sanz, professor of electrical engineering and computer science and the inaugural Milton and Tamar Maltz Endowed Chair in Energy Innovation at CWRU, has been appointed as a program director at the Department of Energy's Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E).

His focus at ARPA-E includes advanced control engineering, wind energy systems, renewable and conventional power generation, electrical distribution systems, smart grid technologies, and water treatment plants and networks.

Dr. Vikas Prakash, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at CWRU and affiliated faculty of GLEI, was featured in a New Atlas article discussing the future of autonomous electric flying vehicles. Prakash was recently awarded a $1.3 million grant under the Partnership for Research in Energy Storage and Integration for Defense and Space Exploration (PRESIDES) in order to develop batteries capable of powering electric flight vehicles, and has no doubt that flying taxis are just a few years away.

GLEI sponsored faculty member Michael Hore and Jon Pokorski, both assistant professors of macromolecular science and engineering, have received Young Investigator awards from the American Chemical Society’s Polymer Materials Science and Engineering Division (PMSE).

GLEI is looking for an experienced program manager to oversee major projects and department finances. The program manager works closely with faculty, students, and industry partners to expand energy education on campus and ensure the success of our large research projects. If you are excited by learning about new technologies, inspiring our future energy leaders, and building longstanding relationships, join our team!

Click here to learn more and apply.