Founded in 2008, the Great Lakes Energy Institute (GLEI) is an interdisciplinary research institute dedicated to catalyzing breakthroughs in energy sustainability that address the most pressing problems facing our world.  Located in Cleveland, Ohio and housed within the Case School of Engineering, we empower our faculty, students and partners to expand knowledge, deepen understanding, and create innovative and sustainable energy solutions.

This diverse group of students from several CWRU schools will be learning about the various aspects of energy that are intertwined including policy, technology, research, and entrepreneurship.   Speakers from across the country from industry, government, and academia will be bringing their stories and experiences on energy to the group in weekly energy ThinkTanks.  We are looking forward to an exciting fifth year of the ThinkEnergy Fellowship Program!

With GLEI’s help, CWRU teaches students about the possibilities in the energy industry to match their growing interest.

Pictured L-R: Ellen, Diana, Neil, Becca, Will, Alberto, Adam, and Mark.


Congratulations to the ThinkEnergy Fellows, ThinkingCaps team for taking second place in the 2019 Saint-Gobain Pitch Competition! The team presented their unique home energy management system and an excellent business case to win the $3,000 prize. Team members included Adam Maraschky, Ellen Walter, Neil Chavan, Ian Parker, and Becca Segel. 

The Dai group, which consists of three very accomplished professors at Case Western Reserve University, have published a paper in Advanced Materials publication titled the “3-D Heteroatom‐Doped Carbon Nanomaterials as Multifunctional Metal‐Free Catalysts for Integrated Energy Devices.” 

The three professor are Liming Dai, the leader and the Dai Group and professors of macromolecular science and engineering, and his senior research associates Rajib Paul and Feng Du. 


Northeastern Ohio native and previous co-director of Great Lakes Energy Institute at CWRU Alexis Abramson  has made history by being the second woman in Darthmouth's 150 year history to serve as dean in Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College.